In a nutshell

Here it goes…

Hi! I’m George. George Schiopu. Born in Romania. Beautiful country. Too bad it’s inhabitated…
Moved to the UK at an “early” age of 30 (almost 40, I know 🙂 ). Developer. Web developer. Linux administration knowledge. Hardcore Magento-ing lately, even got my Magento Certification in 2012. Magento Lead Dev @ Space48 (FKA Optimise Internet) since August 2011. And damn proud of it! Worked at Avantaj NET in Bucharest, before that. Even further back worked at GM (not the car company 🙂 ). Anyway, my webdev and linux experience goes back for more than 15 years now. Told ya’ I’m pretty old!

What else? Oh yeah, hobbies: I like playing my guitar (Les Paul Special II Edition, dreaming of a Gibson Les Paul Studio), love to watch the night sky through my telescope (Celestron Astromaster 70AZ (old one),   SkyWatcher Explorer 130m), and a (totally) amateur photographer, using a Nikon d3100.

I think that should cover it 🙂

Got a wife. Got a son (5 yo). Family dude.

Professionally speaking, this is my resume:

Senior Web Dev & Magento Certified
Space 48, Warrington, UK
Years:  2011 – present
Hardcore Magento / eCommerce development;

Technical Chief Officer
Avantaj Net SRL, Bucharest
Years: 2006 – 2011
Web-based and website development, as well as further maintenance. Study of new technologies in the field and implementation.

Web Developer
Grup Management SRL, Bucharest
Years: 2003 – 2006
Own brands websites development (,,, as well as internal applications development for daily work (images indexing, desktop publishing solutions, etc).

Linux Server Administrator
CNI-GSTC, Bucharest
Years: 2003 – 2009
Installing, configuring and maintenance of the Linux servers for both the intranet and the extranet for the company. Complex setup involving domain logons for the workstations, secure VPN channels and so on.

Web Designer
OpenLink Networks, Bucharest
Years: 2002-2003
Short collaboration with the company, where I participated in projects like (fully), (partially).

Web designer / developer
Dragons Dream Webdesign, Bucharest
Years: 2000 – 2001
Biggest project I was part of was the website for a German company manufacturer of maritime and terrestrial transports equipment spare parts –

Network Administrator & Web designer
Novaintermed SRL, Bucharest
Years: 1998 – 2000
My first in the IT industry while still in Uni. Main responsibilities were making sure the network was up & running, protection for different kinds of attacks and viruses and building the company’s web site.


Centrul de Pregatire in Informatica (IT Training National Centre), Bucharest
Years: 2002
“Web design” course, graduated with grade A

Centrul de Pregatire in Informatica (IT Training National Centre), Bucharest
Years: 2002-2003
“System Engineers” course, graduated with grade A

Hyperion Uni, Bucharest
Years: 1998-2002
Maths & Computer Science

“Ing. A. Saligny” Highschool, Cernavoda
Years: 1994-1998
Maths & Computer Science

I’m mainly a PHP developer, maybe not a PHP-Ninja, but I like to think of myself as at least a “black-belt-level” developer. Nevertheless, senior-level. For the last 3 years I worked very close with the Magento platform, developing ecommerce solutions at very high standards, working for a company called Space 48 in the UK. Got my Magento Developer certification in 2012.

My “career” spans for over the last 15 years (give or take), in which time I had different jobs in the IT fields, even as a designer (well, that was in the beginning). But mainly, as PHP developer and system administrator.

Advanced knowledge of operating systems (Linux, Windows/DOS, MacOS);
Installing, configuring and maintaining Linux servers (web, mail, dns, ftp, ssh, samba, nfs, etc);
Installing, configuring and maintaining  Windows 2000 Server, Advanced Server and DataCenter servers (web, mail exchange, dns, ftp, etc);
Networking standards and protocols  (TPC/IP, HTTP, FTP, Telnet, Mail, etc);
Scripting/Programming languages (PHP, ASP, JavaScript, HTML, CSS, WML, DHTML);
Graphics (Adobe PhotoShop, CorelDraw. Please note that I kinda moved away from all these or the past few years…);

Romanian (native)
English (hey, I live in the UK, it better be good, right?)

Happily  Married. Proud father of a young boy (5 yo at the time of writing this).